The Chakra Colors Explained

What Are the Chakra Colors?

Article by Craig Hamilton-Parker about chakra colors. This article outlines the Chakra Colors as proposed within Spiritualism and Psychic Meditation systems.

Chakra literally translates from Sanskrit as ‘wheel’ although most people prefer to envision them like lotus flowers of light. The seven major chakras or energy centers correspond to the endocrine glands of the body and run up along the spinal cord. They are the link between our physical and spiritual bodies.

The Chakra Colors


The first of the seven major centers is at the coccyx at the base of the spine and it is called the root or base center. Its associated element is earth and it corresponds to the sense of smell, physical energy, and vitality. Here also, say the yogis, sleeps the magic serpent known as the kundalini. It lies coiled at the base of the spine and symbolizes the basic evolutionary life force. Once awakened it will rise through the spine to the crown of the head and because of this may trigger enlightenment in the practitioner of these methods.

For our purposes, imagine the root center as your grounding or primary energy source. This is the center we can turn to if we need physical strength.
The color here is red.


The Sacral Center is just below the navel. It is associated with the adrenals and the release of adrenaline into the body. Its element is water and if this center is out of balance your ‘fight or flight’ response may be overactive. This center also has a cleansing function by filtering out negative influences. Its color is orange


The next center is found just below the breastbone and is called the Solar Plexus center. It controls the digestive system, the pancreas liver, and stomach. Its associated element is fire. This center is our psychic battery and the storehouse of our positive energy. Also, it is the link between the mind and the emotions and the area we process negative feelings. An imbalance here can lead to ‘butterflies’ and digestive disorders.
The color of the Solar Plexus Center is yellow.

Chakra ColoursThe Chakra Pallet appear as mandalas of light


In the center of the chest is the heart center. This is connected to the thymus because it controls the immune system. It is the seat of the ‘higher or deeper’ emotions such as love, tenderness, compassion, and honesty. The energies from this center affect the heart, lungs, upper chest, back and bronchial tubes.
Its element is air and its designated color is green.


The color at the top of the throat is blue. If blue is your given color then you need to draw light into this center. Its element is Ether and its traditional correspondence is with self-expression through thoughts, writing, and speech. It is connected to the thyroid gland which controls the metabolic rate. It also influences the throat, ears, nose, mouth, and neck.


This has the nickname of ‘the third eye’. It is found above and between the eyebrows and is linked to the pituitary and pineal gland. This is the seat of higher consciousness and spiritual powers. Telepathy, clairvoyance, and precognition are generated by this center. It controls the body’s eyes, nerves, head, and brain.
The associated color is a deep indigo.


The goal of the light’s journey from the base of the spine up is to the top of the head. Normally known as the crown center this is the seat of the soul. As with the third eye center, this center also is linked to the pituitary and pineal glands. It is associated with the perfection of mind, body, and spirit. Its designated color is violet but this center is a mass of shimmering lights and colors from the visual spectrum and beyond. We can trigger this center by filling it with pure light and like a fountain its light cascades through your body uniting you with your core spiritual values.

Are you aware that the western systems find different Chakra Colors that the yoga systems? They also place the chakras in different positions – such as in the yoga system there is no Solar Plexus system as such. Although this guide to the Chakra Colors is a good starting point why do you think the yoga system has mismatches. My theory is that the Theosophists and Spiritualists people who first met these ideas were reluctant to include the sexual centers in their teachings. Do you have an opinion about this? Please post your ideas below.

1 comment… add one

Leave a Comment